Turkish Delight

Turkish delight , also called Lokum, is a popular middle eastern sweet dessert. It’s made of sugar , cornstarch and flavorings.

But what kind of magic feeling is there when you taste Turkish delight? Curious and
excited I opened the box. I see powder sugar coated cubes neatly packed inside. Although
the packaging says four diferent flavors and colors, I can’t make out the color of each. I
have to try one to know. I picked one out. It feels more dense than a marshmallow and
quite similar to gummy bear.The powder sugar dusting keeps them from sticking together. I popped one  red cube right in my mouth and slowly savored the taste and feel of my first turkish delight. It is sweet and sticky with a chewy jelly consistency. I noted the heavenly rose flavor right away. The green one is mint flavored and the yellow one is lemon. Maybe the next piece I will find pistachio and almond nuts.

1

turkish delight and coffee

The box is on the dining table to tease and tempt me away from my diet. I wonder if I am going to have tummy ache or tooth ache for eating too much? My tip for eating turkish delight is to eat slowly and in moderation. One is never enough for your sweet tooth.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About phwriter11

I am an artist. My kind of art is Photography, Theater Arts and Communication, Fashion and Design, Digital / Multimedia and Writing. My husband and I travel to Europe, Asia Pacific and Middle East. Imagine the hustle and bustle of catching flights and adjusting bioclocks. My blog is the only thing I can keep on one timezone.
This entry was posted in Culture and Lifestyle, journal, Random Thoughts, The Writer, writings and musings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

